If you’re familiar with Gary Chapman’s 1992 tour de force, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, then you know that a lifetime of love can be easily attained through reading a self-help book. In his masterwork, Chapman outlines the 5 types of communication necessary to create a love that lasts. They are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. While strong and open communication of all sorts can certainly be used towards building a loving relationship with a significant other, these love languages obviously parlay themselves into how to communicate with someone even more important than your soulmate…your customer!

Check out how you can apply the five love languages as communication and engagement strategies with your customers:

Words of Affirmation: Welcome and Onboarding Emails

Your customers deserve to know that they’ve made a great choice by signing up for your product or service. In fact, Stripe explains that welcome and onboarding emails can drive three times the transaction and revenue per email than any other promotional email! That’s right, welcome emails not only serve as digital words of affirmation to your customer but can also do wonders for your bottom line!

Acts of Service: Triggered Email

When customers make payments to your company or updates to their accounts, it’s absolutely imperative that they are notified of the change via email. Triggered email does just that! A triggered email is a timely, relevant, and individualized email automatically sent in response to an action taken by a recipient, or to a data point about that recipient. These sorts of emails help to serve the customer by notifying the customer of changes before they even ask!

Receiving Gifts: Deals, Deals, Deals!

Customers that opt-in to your emails deserve to be recognized for their loyalty! One of the best ways to communicate your gratitude to devoted customers is by sending them marketing emails that contain discount codes and free gifts! Not only do consumers love free stuff, but these sorts of rewards can help keep your clientele engaged with your email messages and create positive buzz about your brand.

Quality Time: Sending Messages at the Right Time

When this love language is applied to a lover or significant other, it generally means spending A LOT of time with that person. However, when it comes to spending time with your customer it needs to be done on their terms, at a time that is convenient for them. This means that when sending marketing or triggered messages, the content needs to be timely to the customer. There’s nothing worse than receiving a marketing email with a discount code for a sale that has already ended or a “Forgot My Password” email hours after the fact. By focusing on sending your messages at the right time, you can build trust with your customer and create a frictionless customer experience.

Physical Touch: Don’t

Okay, my stretch of a metaphor ends here. Please don’t touch your customers.

Keeping these five strategies in mind can help you create a multifaceted email program where you are able to communicate with customers in their own email love language.

~ Erica

P.S. Interested in finding out which love language you speak? Check out this quiz!